The Australian Formula 1 2015 Grand Prix

The venue for the Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix is the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, South Melbourne, Australia. The dates for the fixture are as follows:

  • Support Races: Thursday 12th March 2015;
  • Practice: Friday 13th March 2015;
  • Qualifying: Saturday 14th March 2015;
  • Race: Sunday 15th March 2015

Safety will be at the forefront of the event organisers’ minds, given the Jules Bianchi crash in the 2014 Japanese Formula 1 Grand Prix. A Telegraph interview quoted the former FIA President as stating that the Jules Bianchi crash was a freak accident. Mosley, who was instrumental in improving Formula 1 safety following the deaths of Roland Ratzenberger and Ayrton Senna in 1994, indicated that officials were blameless in the accident that occurred in the 2014 Japanese Grand Prix. Speaking with Sky Sports, Max Mosley pointed out that what happened in Suzuka was very unfortunate, but blame could not realistically be placed upon the race director or any of the marshals. Mosley reasoned that standard procedures had all been followed.

The Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix is held each year in Australia. This Formula 1 fixture is the oldest surviving Australian motor race. The Australian Grand Prix has run a total of 79 times following its inauguration in 1928 at the Phillip Island circuit.

The Australian Grand Prix became a fixture of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship, the first Formula 1 backed event taking place at the Adelaide Street Circuit in South Australia in 1985. The fixture was moved to the Melbourne circuit in 1996. The prize is a plate called the “Jack Brabham Trophy” (named after the three-time winner). The design of the trophy was created in the image of the steering wheel of one of Brabham’s racing cars. The winner is also presented with the world famous “Lex Davison Trophy”, created in the 1960s and named after the four-time race winner.

The Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix is the first round of the international championship. It has been the opening fixture of each racing year (except in 2006 and 2010), since 1996 when the event was moved to the Melbourne circuit. German driver Michael Schumacher and Australian racing car driver Lex Davison have been the most successful racing drivers in the event’s history, racking up four wins each. The current sponsors of the event are Rolex, the Swiss watchmaker. The 2014 Australian Grand Prix was won by the Mercedes Team’s Nico Rosberg.